Nisqually River Council

The Nisqually Watershed Stewardship Plan is implemented through the “Nisqually River Council”, a non-regulatory coordination, advocacy, and education organization. The Council seeks to integrate the history, culture, environment, and economy of the watershed into healthy and sustainable future. A separate “Nisqually River Citizens Advisory Committee” assures citizen representation during implementation of the Nisqually Watershed Stewardship Plan.

The Nisqually River Council consists of 24 active members. These members include:

  • Lewis County
  • Pierce County
  • Thurston County
  • WA Dept. of Fish & Wildlife
  • WA Parks & Rec
  • WA Dept. of Natural Resources
  • WA Dept. of Transportation
  • WA Dept. of Commerce
  • Nisqually Tribe
  • Citizens Advisory Committee Representatives (3)
  • WA Dept. of Ecology
  • WA Conservation Commission – Thurston & Pierce Conservation Districts
  • WA Office of Economic Development
  • Center for Sustainable Forestry at Pack Forest
  • US Dept. of Defense – Joint Base Lewis-McChord
  • US Fish & Wildlife Service – Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge
  • National Park Service – Mt. Rainier National Park
  • Tacoma Public Utilities
  • Town of Eatonville
  • City of Roy
  • City of Yelm
  • US Forest Service – Gifford Pinchot Natl Forest
  • US Dept. of Agriculture
  • Puget Sound Partnership

Nisqually River Foundation
The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that provides the staffing and funding power for the Nisqually River Council. We are committed to the successful implementation of the Nisqually Watershed Stewardship Plan, and believe that a healthy community stems from environmental, social, and economic sustainability.